Tuesday, May 12, 2009

Beauty in life

I'm finally proud of who I am. I'm not ashamed of anything, I'm not regretting something I did yesterday, I'm not wishing with every bone in my body that there was a husband laying next to me in bed, I'm not jealous of girls who have roommates, I'm not embarrassed that I don't work in a stuffy office with stuffy people wearing stuffy clothes at stuffy hours in the morning.

I am me, and I am finally and officially okay with it.

I sleep in every day. Sometimes til noon. To some, this might appear as laziness, but really its getting my necessary hours of sleep just like you do, only difference is-- I went to bed at 2 or 3 in the morning. :) I am a night-owl, and I have night-owl friends. I don't have to be to work until 3 in the afternoon during the week, sometimes mornings on the weekends, but usually it is good ol 3pm when I'm strolling into my job which I love.

Speaking of friends, I have a lot of them. For a while, I thought I had no friends. I even jokingly said that quite often to my poor sister everytime I talked to her on the phone (which is like 100 times a day), to which she could only say "Yes, you do!" haha. I finally realized... I do. I have a lot of friends. Its just different than high school where all your friends are also friends with each other. I have a lot of friends, all of which very, very different from each other and all very, very beautiful people. They are from all different parts of my life, current and in the past, and I love them. Some of them could not be more different than me, but I think thats what makes our friendship amazing.

I am not married. I am single. I cannot believe I can say this, but I love that about myself. I have finally stopped thinking I'm old (for heaven's sake, I am 23 years old), and realized that I just happen to be surrounded by several people who have gotten married young, and it has falsely given me the illusion that I should be married by now too and there is something wrong with me! Wow, that could not be more wrong. I love my married friends and I love their husbands, and their marriages are an inspiration to the kind of relationship I want to have one day. :) But, obviously, its not my turn yet. I can say with a deep breath of fresh air, that I am okay with that.

I love my city. I love the downtown musical artistic beauty of it, and I love the north part of the city where Lake Travis and my life reside. I do, however, plan on living downtown as soon as possible. I love the festivals, the live music, the streets, the people, the people, the people. As Willie Nelson said, "There's a freedom you begin to feel, the closer you get to Austin Texas."

I will be moving to Phoenix, Arizona this November to live with my wonderful family for 6-9 months. The first purpose of moving there is to pay off some debt I've had for a while. That will actually either be gone by the time I move there, or will have very little left. The next purpose, and most exciting one, is to save for a trip to Greece next year with my sister and any other girls that want to come with us. Santorini, Greece has been calling my name for quite some time and it's time I go say hi to her.


Apart from all the other aspects of myself, the biggest and most important part of my life who defines who I am is my passionate romance story with my Creator. He reminds me every single day in tiny (sometimes not so tiny) ways that He loves me and wants to have a love story with me. I am who I am because of His Love, I am a positive person because He has given me a reason to smile and to be positive. The Holy Spirit lives in me and is the reason for every single decision I make for His Kingdom.

Okay, thats all for now. I really, really hope to be blogging more often. I come to the library to get online once or twice a week.

Til then!
Christi

Saturday, January 17, 2009

Life!

Yes, life has definitely gotten in the way of blogging. Well, that and the fact that Becky and I have to scavenge my apartment every once in a while to find a hot spot for stealing internet. But, the place we have it right now seems to be sticking around and not disappearing on us or suddenly requiring a password, so here I ammmm.

I guess I'll just update you on my life because that is all I can really think of to write about.

There are three cats in my apartment terrorizing us! I love them though. They will be gone in a couple days when my sister returns to school on monday. I'm thinking about letting her take all three of them. Even though I'd miss Syd terribly, I have to say it'd be nice to live cat free for a few weeks. Sydney knocks over every single cup she can find. The fact that it is full of water or some other beverage doesn't stop her. She knocks it over no matter what. Chester seems to do it too behind our backs, but Sydney is definitely the worst. So- it'll be nice not to be running across the room reaching for the cup that her paw is slowly coming up to bat at. She looks innocent enough, but she definitely has a little terrorizer in her.

As for work, I'm still at Rudy's. I plan on staying there for as long as I continue getting promoted. Soon, I will be getting interviewed for a trainer position at my location. I've always thought that'd be a cool thing to do. I've worked at Rudy's for a total of about 3 years since 2005. If I'd never left, I would be hitting four years. I feel like I know the place pretty dang well, in and out, and can answer just about any question a new hire might have. So I will definitely like being a trainer if I get the position. They also are aware that I'd love to work at the corporate office on 183 (right next to the Rudy's on 183) and do whatever they'd like me to do there. Seriously, I'd take any position there. It's K&N Management, they own all four austin-are Rudy's and are the creators and runners of Mighty Fine which is opening up two more locations at the beginning of this year. I would just love to be involved in any way possible. Basically, I freaking love my job. I don't dread going to it, I never call in sick even when I am sick, I laugh and smile the entire time I'm there-- I feel like I'm hanging out with a bunch of people I absolutely love. I wouldn't change a thing except maybe a raise haha. But, I do want to progress in the company.

As for church, I'm singing again- back on stage!!- at True Life Fellowship which might as well be a small branch of Church of the Hills. I know a lot of people that go there from COTH back in the day, and I get to sing, so I am happy. I have to admit, me being a complete non morning person does not mix well with getting to church at 7 in the morning on sundays to practice for two hours and then sing in two services. But, I do it and am glad for it every Sunday.

As for my life, it is good. I am single and learning how to function that way. Its been interesting and kind of funny. If you know me well, you know the funny parts and the diversity of my... involvements. Shut up Becky. :) My friends are amazing. I've become really close with several people at work, and I love it. My friends outside of work are also spectacular. I see my sister every day which I love and will be severely bummed when she leaves on Monday. I see Audra quite often and I've found that things are just funnier when she's around and I think she feels the same way about me. I talk to Brittany pretty much every single day and even though she's so far away, I still feel her right smack dab in the middle of my heart and we are just as close as ever. My good friend Courtney just got engaged! She's one of the "seven girls" from my high school days, and I get to be a bridesmaid and I'm so dadgum excited to be involved. As for Karen, I do wish I got to see her more. She might as well live on the other side of the planet! But when we do get together for lunch or dinner or whatever it might be, its like no time has passed. I especially love it when we seem to revert back to the Karen and Christi personalities from highschool. We did that not too long ago over a weekend where there was an alumni basketball game at our highschool. We were out at the basketball goal that we spent soo much time at in the beginning years of our friendship, and I was on cloud nine being out there with her! Kristina and I talk all the time, and her husband and I have a pretty hilarious relationship. I love it when I become buddy/buddy with my friends' husbands! I go visit them every chance I get and she is definitely and will always be my BOAT. tee hee.

Whew! Didn't mean to get off onto an extreme tangent like that!

There is a kitty in my lap who wants attention. Until next time,
Christi

Monday, December 1, 2008

Ohhh the usual.

Well, once again, looks like things could be a-changin for me in life soon!

I don't have much else to write about... except that I had a wonderful Thanksgiving. Time with the 'rents is few and far between, and so muchly appreciated. I'm excited to go spend Christmas in their part of the world. Well, it feels far anyway. Only two states away.

I wish I had something interesting to post... maybe I will in a few days. I'll stumble upon something funny or interesting online and share it with your thirsty souls. Hehe.

Tuesday, November 25, 2008

Just so you know...

It sucks not having internet.

Please comment to let me know I still have some readers!

Friday, October 31, 2008

Biggest OOPS I've ever made at Rudy's BBQ. This is a must read.

I have worked at Rudy's for the majority of my life since March of 2005. I've had my ups and downs, I've gotten in trouble for little things like standing around, or clocking in late, etc. But never... have I ever... experienced what went down two days ago.

So, on the registers at Rudy's, there is a button called "Change Quantity." It comes in really hand if, say, someone is buying like 10 jalapeno's. Instead of having to push the jalapeno button 10 times, you can hit "change quantity" then select "10" and THEN hit the jalapeno button. Well, one night two weeks ago, my dear friend Haylea and I were in the Country Store and were bored.

We decided to see how much over a 10 million pounds of brisket would cost. It came out to about 99 million dollars or so. Of course, I didn't cash it out, I just simply voided the item and deleted the ticket. I noticed that when I voided it, the computer lagged a little, which rarely happens, but I didn't think anything of it.

Well, two days ago (a week after the innocent incident), I get to work and immediately get taken to the office.

The sales for last week were approximately 99 million dollars off. And, to top it off, my little boredom adventure shut down the entire hard drive system at the corporate office of Rudy's because it was such a massive, insane amount- that the hard drive couldn't handle it.

To say the least... I was speechless.
The owners are involved, the corporate guys that work high up in Rudy's are involved. An email was sent out to all four locations, all the GMs and all the managers, WITH MY NAME IN IT, explaining what happened. They are making every Rudy's employee sign a piece of paper saying they will not play around with high quantities of food on the registers, and if anyone does, the result is immediate termination.

.............my bad

Thursday, October 30, 2008

I move in two days....

I have two boxes packed.
And no time.

So basically, so far this is how things are looking like they're going to turn out...

Tuesday, October 28, 2008

Bejing Olympics Lego Model!







So cool! Read the article and see more pictures here.