Today, on my way out to a cemetary, my sister and I drove through rain. A lot of rain. The kind where you can't see where you're driving.
I think I might have mentioned in the past that I love rain. If I didn't, and you don't already know- I love rain. Not just any kind of rain though. A sprinkle is nice, but I don't like the muggy misty kind of rain that just feels like the air is damp. The kind of rain that I love is the kind that downpours. The sheets and sheets of nothing by huge droplets being scattered across your windshield, window pane at home, or your feet if you're the kind that likes to go out and experience the sheets first hand. That would be me, by the way. Unless I have freshly straightened hair (vain, I know) I like to go out in the rain!

I used to be a bit more of a fanatic of going out into the downpour. I remember several times in high school during lunch, it'd be heavy showers outside and I would leave the gym, go outside, take off my shoes (probably shoulda rolled up my pants too, go out into the parking lot, and become a little girl. It was ridiculous and part of it was probably (most definitely) to get attention (look at her! She's crazy! And so carefree! blah blah haha), but mostly I really did love being out there and feeling out of the normal bubble humans live in (we all must stay dry!) and jump around and splash in the puddles being created by the tons and tons of rain falling down onto the parking lot. Every once in a while, one of my good buds would run out there with me and be carefree right alongside their strange slightly attention-seeking friend.
One specific time, however, my friend Megan did the unthinkable with me (she actually barely has a memory of this happening, but it was most definitely her that was with me, I remember it so clearly). We not only walked out of the gym, removed our shoes, and went out into the parking lot... we continued with the adventure. We left the parking lot, walked down the street and kept walking. All the while becoming absolutely drenched from head to toe in the rain. No joke, we looked like we had run and jumped into a pool by the time we were finished. And then, we went to class like that. Can you believe that? I remember loving it and loving that my friend came with me to venture down Little Elm in the storm and then go to class to freeze our butts off and have teachers shaking their heads at the immature high school girls who decided to take a dip in the streets in the middle of a school day. I didn't
feelimmature though. I felt carefree.

Another specific rain memory I have was one time when I was at worship band practice for the Church of the Hills youth group, and it was just the band in the sanctuary and we were about to go into the song "Intimacy" and all of the sudden we heard pellets upon pellets of rain hitting the roof, and we could tell it was some intense rain going on outside, so we all went to look out the doors. Sure enough, it was the kind I love. Couldn't even tell the parking lot was black because everything was a solid color of silver and gray from all the rain. So, I did what I always did- I ran out there. My friend Lauren was with me, and she came out there as well. We ran around for a bit, and then came back in and instantly started singing "Intimacy" with the band because they'd already started playing the song. I remember it was such a powerful time of worship, and it was just practice! I remember having my eyes closed and when I opened them, I looked around at the few people involved with tech and lights and everyone else on stage and we all had our arms raised and we were just singing so loud. I don't know how the rain made it more intense and intimate for me, but it did. I had just been outside frolicking around in creation and ran back in, soaked, and dove right into worship. I miss those times on stage.
I just love rain. There's just something about it.